

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

Janet Waugh District 1

District 2

Melanie Haas Michelle Dombrosky Ann E. Mah District 3

District 4

Jean Clifford District 5

Dr. Deena Horst District 6

Ben Jones District 7

Betty Arnold District 8

Jim Porter District 9

Jim McNiece District 10

SUMMARY OF THE DECEMBER 2021 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

Action

- Accepted recommendations of the Accreditation Review Council to award the status of Accredited to St. Agnes Elementary and the status of Conditionally Accredited to both Holy Spirit Catholic and USD 381 Spearville.
- Accepted recommendations of the Commissioner's Task Force on ESSER and approved 14 public school district expenditure plans and 26 change requests as presented.
- Accepted a Resolution expressing appreciation to KSDE staff for their extraordinary contributions and dedication to Kansas education, particularly during the pandemic.

Recognition

National PTA School of Excellence recipients from Kansas accepted their awards. Honorees are Broken Arrow Elementary (Shawnee Mission USD 512), Broken Arrow Elementary PTA, Shawnee Mission North High School (USD 512) and Shawnee Mission North High School PTSA.

Reports and Presentations

- A final project report on the Literacy Network of Kansas (LiNK) summarized work that occurred through the federal Striving Readers Initiative. The three-year award provided more than \$27 million to build capacity for literacy at the state, regional and community levels.
- The four state assessment performance levels were outlined. Each identifies student skill and knowledge development in the tested content areas.
- Members of the Graduation Requirements Task Force gave a six-month progress update. Each of the three subcommittee chairs talked about their work to create a more flexible, meaningful set of graduation requirements for students, tied to the Individual Plan of Study.
- Staff explained the classroom-based assessment used with History/Government/Social Studies and reviewed the scoring rubrics.
- Guest speakers shared initiatives to increase family engagement with schools and efforts to provide mental health support for educators.
- Baldwin City USD 348 and DeSoto USD 232, both described their approaches to improving school climate and to support students in the area of social-emotional growth.
- Sen. Molly Baumgardner, Chair of the Senate Education Committee, proposed ways to strengthen legislative collaboration and reported on the Kansas Promise Scholarship program.

Next Meeting – Jan. 11 and 12 at the Landon State Office Bldg., Topeka.